- The latest update to Google Play Services is changing how contacts sync on Android.
- Turning off Contacts sync will remove previously synced contacts from your Android phone.
We take contact sync on our Android phones for granted. As long as you have a Google account on your Android phone, transferring contacts from an Android device to another Android device is something you don’t even have to think about. But Google is making a fundamental change to this behavior, and if you change phones often, you may need to be a little careful.
The latest entry to the changelog of May 2023’s Google Play System Update includes a big departure from how contact sync worked on Android so far: