- Google plans to start deleting old, inactive accounts starting this December.
- The purge will only affect accounts that have been active for two years or longer.
- Google will send multiple notifications to the user before the deletion process starts.
Update: May 18, 2023 (5:32 AM ET): Google has clarified it has no plans of deleting accounts with YouTube videos at this time. That means if you are a creator and use your Google account just for uploading YouTube videos and nothing else, you are in the clear.
Original article: May 16, 2023 (12:20 PM ET): If you have a Google account and haven’t logged on in a while, you may want to do a quick check-in. Google plans to start deleting inactive accounts later this year.